Featured Libation #102: Orchard Sour

Spring is upon us now and that means we are one step closer to that elusive summer that seems like a distant, faded memory of old.  You know what I mean.  Sipping Caipirinhas and soaking in the summer sun by the pool.  How bout’ a Mai Tai while rolling a hard eight at Caesar’s?  Well, we’re not quite there yet, but I like to think of spring as the perfect time to sip luscious flavors of ripe apples and sour lemons.  That’s it, a sour.  One of my favorite cocktails to enjoy during spring.  Come to think of it, it’s one of my favorite drinks to enjoy year round.  I look to more warm and rich flavors in fall and winter such as bourbon, allspice, and maybe some tart cranberry.  But today, I’m thinking crisp and light; maybe apples and honey?  Hmm, my Applejack has been collecting some dust lately and I haven’t even tapped my Orchard Apricot yet…Me thinks’ I may be on to something.

Orchard Sour
1 oz Laird’s Applejack
1 oz Rittenhouse 100 Rye
1/2 oz Rothman & Winter Orchard Apricot Liqueur
1/2 oz Honey Syrup (1:1)
1 oz Fresh Lemon Juice
5 drops Fee Brothers Peach Bitters for Garnish
1 Egg White

Combine everything but bitters and dry shake for 5 seconds.  Add ice and shake vigorously for 10 seconds.  Strain into a chilled coupe or sour glass and garnish.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

