Pomp & Circumstance

Seems like it’s been a fortnight or two since the last time I’ve posted on this humble blog, and I actually think it has.  Though, to my defense it’s been a busy summer for me combined with getting all four wisdom teeth pulled out in one day as well.  Joy.  But, now that I’ve had a chance to recover it’s time to start concocting in the liquor lab again.  I recently had to send up a recipe to my public relations crew and I thought it would be a perfect cocktail to get back in the swing of things.

I’ve been playing with a lot of vodka inspired drinks lately since it seems to be more popular at this time of the year, especially flavored ones.  Now, I’m always quite weary of what flavors and distillers I use when it comes to vodka, but this time I am actually turning to a very well know producer of premium vodka, Grey Goose.  I know many of us usually recommend to stay away from premium and ultra premium brands as you usually can find an equal or superior match for far cheaper.  However, I find many lower end flavored vodkas to be far too sweet and full of too many artificial flavorings.

I’ve always liked the more natural flavor of Grey Goose La Poire compared to other cheaper brands and I was tinkering with a more craft style pear “martini” and it seemed to work great.  Throw in some real ginger liqueur, tried and true Aperol and some fresh citrus and you have yourself a vodka, better yet, flavored vodka cocktail that deserves a bit more pomp and circumstance than most mixologists and enthusiasts might afford it.  Cheers.

Pomp & Circumstance

1 1/2 oz Grey Goose La Poire Vodka

1/2 oz Aperol

1/2 oz broVo Ginger Liqueur

3/4 oz Fresh Lemon Juice

1/4 oz Simple Syrup

Lemon Twist for Garnish

Combine ingredients over ice.  Shake and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.  Garnish and enjoy.

DSC02471pomp

Color:  Yellow orange tint

Flavor:  Soft Anjou Pear with bitter orange, lemon, mild ginger

Texture:  Light and refreshing

Notes on ingredients:  If you end up using a ginger liqueur with more sugar, like Domain de Canton or Kings, you may want to adjust the simple syrup to taste, especially since the Aperol has a fair amount of sugar already.

Leave a Reply

